Being arrested for suspected drunk driving is a terrifying situation. Whether you refused to take the breathalyzer or the results indicated that your blood alcohol content (BAC) was .08 or higher, you were probably detained for driving while intoxicated (DWI).
If you are interested in defending your DWI arrest in Minneapolis, Minnesota, whether in Minneapolis or the Twin Cities metro region, you need a skilled Minneapolis DWI Lawyer. Time truly is of the essence in criminal matters, so don’t wait to contact Martine Law in Minneapolis today.
DWI Advice From a Minneapolis DWI Lawyer
More than 25,000 people are detained in Minnesota yearly on suspicion of DWI. Driving under the influence, or DUI, refers to doing so while intoxicated, whether alcohol, drugs, or both cause that intoxication. Instances where a driver’s blood alcohol level is higher than the permitted limit of .08%, are classified as DWI or driving while intoxicated.
Operating a car while intoxicated (BAC of .08% or higher) and drugged driving are prohibited in Minnesota. Speak to your Minneapolis DWI Lawyer about what the consequence of such a charge may mean for you.
According to Minnesota state law, some circumstances surrounding DWI charges can worsen matters and result in harsher punishments.
These consist of the following:
- A qualifying past drunk driving event within the previous ten years
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.16%
- Driving under the influence of alcohol with a child in the automobile
- Having a DWI while having a suspended, revoked, or canceled license
Breath Test Refusal in Minneapolis, Minnesota
Ask your Minneapolis DWI Lawyer about Implied Consent Law. According to Minnesota’s DWI laws, refusing to submit to a chemical test of one’s blood, breath, or urine will likely lead to the revocation of your right to drive, even if you have not had any prior DWI incidents. Our criminal defense attorney can protect your rights and your freedom if you’re facing charges in Minneapolis, MN.
Tell Your Minneapolis DWI Lawyer About Your DWI Charge
DWI comes in four degrees, from fourth to first. The most serious is first, and the most minor is fourth:
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.27. A fourth-degree DWI is a misdemeanor. This carries a maximum jail sentence of 90 days and a $1,000 fine.
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.26. A third-degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor. The possible penalties are a $3,000 fine and up to 365 days in jail.
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.25. A second-degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor. The potential penalties are up to 365 days in prison and a $3,000 fine.
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.24. A first-degree DWI is a felony. It carries a maximum sentence of seven years in prison and a $14,000 fine.
DWI consequences are steep. But there may be mistakes that were made or something overlooked that can help us get your DWI dismissed. Don’t leave your freedom up to chance. Hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to represent you in your case. Contact us today.
Our Other Practice Areas
- Family law
310 S 4th Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55415
Lake Elmo office:
8530 Eagle Point Blvd.
Lake Elmo, MN 55042
White Bear Lake office:
4525 White Bear Parkway
White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Contact a Minneapolis DWI Lawyer
By bringing your case to a Minneapolis DWI Lawyer, you can rest assured that someone knowledgeable about criminal law, the ins and outs of the court system, and the best ways to protect your interests is working to achieve the best result possible. Contact Martine to schedule a consultation.